On the Other Side of Gally

Friday 11th: After waking up from the surgery
Saturday 12th: Home after the event
Wednesday 16th: A few days into the week after the Eviction of Gally!

So it’s been quite the adventure! Last Friday 11th August it was Gally’s Eviction Day! I went to the public hospital reeeeeeeeeally early in the morning (6am Admission) and I was apparently a “priority case” and was the first person called up when the admin desk opened. I was ushered up to the 4th Floor and waited about 30secs (lol) and was whisked through the doors and into the changing rooms.

I got to put on that really attractive purple gown that opened at the back, and a super sexy pair of hospital underwear, then went through a huge amount of forms and got those great hospital stockings. I was the first one taken through the unit to the waiting beds where I was given a bright red hat (red for allergies. I’m allergic to Propofol, the most often used general anesthetic).

My bed was wheeled through countless doors, and because I was so anxious I was rabbiting on, just random stuff. And man, those hospital ceilings are so ugly.

Into the teeny pre-op room, where I had a Parisian and a New Zealand anesthetist team. They stuck an IV in my elbow, asked for something to help me CALM THE FUCK DOWN, surgeon came in, gave us the green light and I was wheeled into the operating room.

I was thinking “Um the sedative isn’t working!” but then realised they hadn’t given it to me yet. Boy, did I know when they did! And the rest I don’t really remember.

Woke up later, in the recovery room, in horrible horrible pain. I found out later on, that they gave me ketamine during the surgery. Apparently everything went well. I have four incisions on my abdomen, the biggest is below my belly button and that’s where they pulled Ol’ Gally out and apparently he put up a fight! He was larger than they expected and so was a bit more difficult to get out and there is some (a fair bit) of bruising below the incision.

They managed to get my pain levels to a lower level, more tolerable level. And I was sent to the 23hr Unit where I spent the night.

Pain was pretty consistent and I was on Oxycodone. My blood pressure dropped overnight, which I have low blood pressure normally but the hospital didn’t understand that so stuck me on IV fluids overnight. And after a horrible breakfast, the surgeon came around and spoke to me.

Now I don’t mean to speak ill of our public health system and the fine people who work there, BUT the surgeon I spoke to before leaving the hospital …. well she could have been nicer. She didn’t listen to my concerns and was very testy when I said that paracetomol doesn’t do anything for my pain – I have Fibromyalgia, pain is a part of my daily life – so she said she was only going to give me a script for 3 tablets of oxycodone. As in, 3 tablets.

Off topic one sec: EVERYTIME I go to the public system for pain, pain of any kind, they give me the skeptical look when I say that paracetomol does nothing. I get treated like a drug seeker, and it’s not an uncommon problem for people with chronic pain – being treated like drug seekers. Yeah, cause I went and had surgery just to get some oxy. YEAH SURE.

So I went home, and I felt like shit and now I’m tired and I am getting sleepy after taking my pain meds so I may have to make this a 2 part series and come back to it later.

