Adventures in Seroquel, Chapter Two.

At time of writing, it is 8.42am. I refuse to get out of bed before 9am on a Friday morning. 

So this is the next instalment in my ‘Adventures in Seroquel‘ series. I am writing these posts mostly to poke fun at myself but also so hopefully other people who take Seroquel (the actual drug name is quetiapine, Seroquel is just one brand name) won’t feel so silly about some things they do in their sleep.

So since Part 1, it’s been a little while and I don’t have an accurate list of all the weirdo shit I’ve done. Though I do have these:

  • Started cleaning my face like a cat
  • Flailing arms, like a Muppet (Kermit most especially)
  •  Recurrence of ‘Possum Elle’ (‘playing possum’ which is where I pretend to be a possum and pull the blanket up to my nose-area and tuck my hands under the blanket

I’ve asked if Mr Hippo witnesses any more weirdo behaviour to please keep a record and tell me later so I can continue this series.

Seroquel has a pretty nasty reputation, and I can’t say it doesn’t deserve some of it. One thing that freaks people out about it (I may have written this before but whatevs) is that the class of psychiatric drug it’s in is ‘antipsychotics’. Often people who have very little knowledge of medication and are new to their mental health recovery path, think that taking an ‘antipsychotic’ must mean they are psychotic.

This is NOT TRUE. I think drugs like Seroquel need to be re-classed. I think ‘antianxiety’ or something trauma related would be better.

Originally, yes, Seroquel was developed for people who suffer from illnesses such as Schizophrenia or other schizo disorders. Often these people take HUGE doses of the drug.

But, like many other medications, Seroquel has many ‘off label’ uses. It is used for people who have trauma symptoms and/or PTSD to help control the symptoms (flashbacks and other triggers etc). It’s used as PRN* for people who have anxiety. And because of its side effects, it’s often used as a non-addictive sleep aid.

In my case, as discussed before in Part 1, I take Seroquel for a couple reasons. I take it as a trauma symptom assistant, utilise the sleep side effects for my horrible insomnia and as PRN.

And now it’s coffee time!

Bye

*Because the medical field love Latin, PRN stands for ‘Pro Re Nata’ which means ‘as required’.

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Seroquel, Chapter Two.

  1. Thanks for your post. At 5am everyone morning I wake up with pains in my legs and must move them like I’m cycling a bike fast to get myself back to sleep πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ serequel is very strange x I have used from 175mg to 25mg recently and my sleeping has been fucked. The quality is less but much better x

    Like

    1. I take a pretty large dose at night, 600mg, purely because my insomnia is so bad. Which is unfortunately NOT caused by any of my illnesses! I have between 25-100mg to use as PRN for anxiety. I don’t like the way Seroquel feels when it makes me sleep, like being dragged under quicksand. But it’s precisely that reason it is not addictive, which is a benefit for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow that is a very large dosage? Do you take it all in one go? I didn’t fine PRN Quetiapine useful at all and needed something fast acing. Yes that medicine does make you feel so sleepy and suffocated. Even on this low dosage I wake up groggy- but now its lower no where near as much thank goodness. Missing you the best. x

        Like

Leave a Reply

