Basic Guide to Being Who You Are, and Giving Zero Figs

So recently I have been having some pretty nasty comments from friends, or at least people I thought were my friends.

Their comments ranged from how I should be using my social media (I’ve been posting too “negative stuff”), how I should treat my own illness, that I act like I am THE ONLY PERSON to ever have suffered tough times in their life, that I am not “trying hard enough”, and other comments and accusations regarding my life and how I live it.

I just got ANOTHER hate message from a friend. I don’t understand WHY all these good, kind, nice people are acting like complete fuckwits? Honestly, if you don’t like what I post on MY social media, unfriend/block me. If you don’t like ME, then just stop talking to me!

So I snapped. I finally have stopped caring. I don’t just give zero fucks, I give zero FIGS. Because when you think about it, figs are much less important than fucks. So I give ZERO FIGS.

I have only just begun to learn who I am. Who I authentically am. Who I am, under everything, under my illness, under my anxiety and insecurities. Because my illness kicked into gear hard when I was around 14, the general start to the  formative years a person figures themselves out and who they are, my illness buried my real self under layers of fear, insecurities, anxiety, depression, mood swings, and a whole bunch of other fun stuff.

This carried on well into my early 20’s, because I had a misdiagnosed illness that was being incorrectly treated. It wasn’t until my mid 20’s that FINALLY someone listened and believed me, and I got the right treatment, and finally the layers started to peel back like the petals on a flower, and I finally started to understand and even appreciate myself.

So! Here is Elle’s One Step Guide To Being Who You Are And Giving Zero Figs:

Step One: Be Yourself. Be your authentic self. Do not care what anyone else thinks. If someone doesn’t like you, then that actually shows more about them as a person, than you. Don’t apologise for being yourself, don’t apologise for liking the things you like or being who YOU are!

One lesson I had to learn the hard way quite recently, was that it is OK if not everyone likes me. That doesn’t make me a bad person, it just means that sometimes two people just don’t “click”. And that is totally OK. It’s not the end of the world, you won’t die and you’ll actually be happier not worrying about that so much.

Be yourself, try your hardest, and don’t forget to wear your invisible crown!

 

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-3-42-15-pm

Leave a Reply

